About Me

Your Child Is in Great Hands

About Me

Hi there! My name is Kathryn and I'm a 19 year old Psychology student at Swansea University. However, I am often at home in Poole, Dorset.

- I hold an Enhanced DBS Certificate

- I'm well educated with top grades in my GCSEs (all A&A*) and A Levels

- I'd like to say that I'm very friendly and approachable, always doing things to make others happy.

- At University I volunteer with the Universities' own charity working with vulnerable children and adults with disabilities as well as in schools assisting teachers.

- I have lots of babysitting and childcare experience and am flexible with times and dates.

I hope that gives you a reasonable insight into who I am as a person.

Health & Safety

Certificates & Training:

- Enhanced DBS Certificate

- Child Protection (Level 2)

- First Aid Essentials (Level 2)

- Being Safe: Effective First Aid Management in you Setting

- Babysitter Insurance (£10m of Public Liability Insurance and Legal Expenses cover under the Childcare.co.uk insurance scheme)

- 9 GCSEs

- 3 A-Levels

Sports Practice

Q&A with Kathryn

Q1- What experience do you have looking after children?

I have experience looking after two of the children in my family, both since they were born. One of the boys is now 2 years old and the other 10 years old. I have also been babysitting for my neighbours twin girls since they were both 2 years old (they are now school age). Since starting more childcare I have worked with a family with 4 children, helping with homework and bedtimes. I also work with two boys, 5 and 8. We do a different activity every session, these have included baking, painting, making bath bombs, lego building, making stickers and play dough. Alongside this I work for a family with 5 year old triplets. They all have level 5 cerebral palsy and it is a delight to care for them.

Q2- What do you love most about childcare?

I love the bond between the child and carer. When the child is excited to see you and they, as well as the parents, feel happy and safe around you, that's the best feeling. It's also great because it helps parents get the much needed down time that they often don't get.

Q3- What do you think makes for a good childcarer?

A fun, friendly face that the the child feels excited to see each visit and most importantly, someone that the child feels happy and comfortable to be around. Also, lots of patience definitely helps!

Q4- What would you say is the hardest part of childcare?

I think it would be discipline. Every parents approach and beliefs differ hugely. It is important to me to talk first with parents about how they deal with undesirable behaviour and to carry through with the same approach myself to provide the child with that continuity. 

Q5- What are your favourite activities to do with kids?

I really enjoy playing imaginary games with the children, whether that is playing dolls, building a castle or a train track. Creative activities like painting, play dough, drawing and building lego are all good fun too! It's great fun to play in the garden and go out for walks but still ensuring that they get the down time that they need and maintain their usual routine.

Q6- What are your favourite kids' books?

It depends on the age group. For ages 0-5, 'The Very Hungry Caterpillar' and 'The Tiger Who Came To Tea' are classics. For slightly older children of 5-8 I love 'The BFG' and 'Peter Pan'. And then for 8+ I like 'Malory Towers by Enid Blyton', 'Matilda' and 'Holes by Louis Sachar'.

Q7- What are your best qualities when it comes to looking after kids?

I would like to say that I'm fun, positive and friendly but always believe in a balance of excitement and down time. I always try to encourage kind and empathetic behaviour towards others.

© 2020 by Kathryn's Kids Care.

  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook